“Rød grød med fløde” -the first thing you learn to say when visiting Denmark, and to everyone´s amusement. It means red porridge with cream and is a traditional dessert. Here it is, rhubarb porridge with whipped cream, home-made of course at  my grandparent´s house. Since blogging has entered my life, some peculiar situations arise when I take pictures for the blog. Like when I arranged the porridge next to the flowers and my grandmother gave me a slightly worried look and I assured her that it is quite normal for my generation to document everything they do on camera.

So I took pictures in their basement of homemade fruit juices, jam, jelly etc. My grandmother Edith still looked worried but a bit amused at this point..

This is what the rhubarb porridge  is made from, fresh from the garden.

These toys are from when my mother was a child and my son really loved playing with them, even my old dollhouse was a hit.

Hand embroidered pillows are everywhere in my grandparent´s house, even the toilet has hand crocheted towels for the guests.

My grandmother gave me this pretty vintage flower dress from the 70s. Thank you Edith.

I hope you enjoyed my family story. My grandparents mean so much to me, when I was a child I used to stay with them in the summer and since I am partially brought up abroad, they have been a stable part of my life. They really understand how to value the simple things in life and my cousins and I loved to stay there, play and eat fresh beans, potatoes  and strawberries from the garden.

My grandparents are in their 80s and still very active. My grandfather-engineer and inventor- invented the first solar energy storage system for heating in Denmark, during the energy crisis in the 70s, called Sunwell, I am so proud. My grandmother works as a volunteer at a 2nd hand shop. These volunteers care for every garment, and clean and prepare the clothes for sale, and nothing is wasted but all goes to charity. These pretty porcelain teacups are from the shop -and very cheap too.